How I’m Becoming A Life-Long Learner

Beep! Beep! Beep!

The sound of my alarm clock woke me up. Sleepily I hit the OFF button instead of SNOOZE and proceeded to sleep through my 7AM flight.

My time at the airport was miserable. Apparently Jetblue flights from RDU to JFK are always packed full, and I had to wait an excruciating 12 hours without internet access. (Hyperbole: Being without internet access at an airport for over 12 hours is equivalent to being water-boarded. No, seriously. You try it.)

Yet 12 hours later I found myself taking the LIRR from Jamaica to my house, where I subsequently passed out for a solid 15 hours. (Not Hyperbole: 6pm to 9am)

It’s amazing what the cumulative effects of all night cram sessions, Domino’s Pizza, and a dozen other commitments can do a college student’s mind and physique. But that’s a topic for another day.

For others, break would normally be a time of rest and relaxation – but not for me. I’ve got to improve.

I enjoyed my second to last semester at Duke, but I realized that I stretched myself too thin. I had plans to write regularly on three blogs, overload with 5 classes, and work two jobs.

And this doesn’t even count all the social commitments I made as a result of being in a fraternity.

But more importantly, the idea of “school” began to drag on me.

I’ve never been made for school. For me, school is a place where I’m forced to wake up earlier than is necessary (not before 1PM please!) and write a research paper on forms of entertainment during the 13th century (they didn’t even have Facebook!).

Source: Google.

This is not to say that school is unnecessary, or that I didn’t learn anything from school.

I just wish it could have been things I cared about.

Which leads me to the point of this post: I’ve committed to becoming a life-long learner. And the movement starts now, with Christmas break.

Here’s the breakdown of my break:

  1. Read The Purple Cow by Seth Godin.
  2. Read the Social Media Bible 2nd Edition by Lon Safko.
  3. Learn HTML via www.w3schools.com.
  4. Attend as many conferences, meet-ups, networking events as I can.
  5. Read This Is Your Brain On Music by Daniel J. Levitin
  6. Start learning How-to-Freestyle. (My dream of becoming a famous rapper is not likely to happen. But I can still impress a cute girl a party right?)

Are you committed to being a life-long learner? What are you currently learning.

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

Leave a Reply

