Sometimes You Just Need To Unplug…

Most of my time nowadays is spent online, whether I’m blogging, checking my Facebook, watching a funny video, tweeting, networking, etc.

Not that I don’t go outside, because I do have a social life, but sometimes it’s good to just unplug and talk to people – especially about their career aspirations.

Last night a friend and I went to go see a Duke alumni who is now doing sketch comedy with the Upright Citizens Brigade. He’s doing very well; many of his sketches were with big time celebrities, were extremely funny, and he is now moving out to LA to pursue his dream big time.

While at Duke, he was part of an Improv group called Duke University Improv (DUI), where he developed a small, but close group of friends who enjoyed the same things he did: improv, comedy and theatre.

After the show, my friend and I, other comedians and some DUI alumni went out for drinks.

Over drinks we reminisced about Duke, but most importantly, I got to hear stories of how some DUI alumni were experiencing great success through hard work, and at the same time helping to pave the path for the younger members.

Most importantly, I learned that they were doing what they loved – with the goal to make it big – but more importantly because they loved comedy and acting.

For some reason, that blew me away and was refreshing to hear.

These aspiring comedians and actors were hard at work, taking classes, shooting videos on the fly, working part-time restaurant jobs, doing anything to support themselves while they pursued their dream.

They seemed to have a firm belief that success came from hard work and dedication, and just a little bit of luck.

I would have to say I believed them.

One of my dreams has always been to work in the music industry, but for some reason I could never see it coming true, so I always looked at alternative career options that I thought would suit me, instead of trying doing something that I love.

So I’ve officially made the choice that I want to work in the music industry.

Will that happen when I graduate in May?

That remains to be seen.

But I know that through hard work, perseverance, a great network of people, and just a little bit of luck, I’ll get there someday.

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

Leave a Reply

