You Too Can Be A Musician

I have a confession to make. When yesterday I wrote that I’ve always had the dream of working in the music industry, it was only partially true.

The real truth is that I’ve always wanted to become a producer/rapper, but I’ve never had the balls to actually try it.

I’ve never really free-styled, and the closest I’ve ever come to making my own music was being able to play the Clarinet up until I was 17.

I was hanging out with a good friend the other day when he bought a set of digital turn tables, plugged it into his Mac, and began mixing and scratching beats.

He said to me, “Wanna try?”

I scoffed at his suggestion, “Who me? I’d probably suck big time.”

“No, it’s really easy,” he responded. “Take it, I’ll show you how.”

And that’s how I realized that I really should start rapping and producing my own music.

You see, I’ve been reading this book called, “This is Your Brain on Music” by Daniel J. Levitin that is really quite interesting.

He talks about how our culture makes a distinction between a class of expert performers and the rest of us.

Here is a line from the book:

“A couple of generations ago, before television, many families would sit around and play music together for entertainment. Nowadays there is a great emphasis on technique and skill, and whether a musician is ‘good enough’ to play for others. Music making has become a somewhat reserved activity in our culture, and the rest of us listen.” (pg 7)

But I believe that this trend is slowly being bucked. With the rise of the web, many of the obstacles that prevented the “rest of us” from becoming musicians has been stripped away.

With the web, a musician can learn his craft through the many online manuals, buy equipment, (net)work with other musicians, showcase their skills, and hopefully build a following or get signed.

My goal is not necessarily to make it big; I just want to become a musician.

Somewhere down the line, say 30, I would love to be part of a band and do shows.

The other part, would be to actually write about and work in the business side of music.

So that is my big dream.

I hope that writing it down for everyone to see, pushes me to become it.

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

Leave a Reply

