Fear’s Icy Cold Grip

I went into NYC the other day to see my brothers, and then I took the Metro North to Westchester to visit a friend.

I took the subway from 1st and 14th to Union Station, where I had to transfer over to another line to get to Grand Central Station.

When the train came, I was late getting there and I found out that the doors had closed and the train was packed.

However, because there were so many people, the doors opened again, and I spotted a chance to sneak in. But I didn’t capitalize on the opportunity, because I figured that the train was already full enough, and I would simply disturb the other inhabitants.

Other subway users, however, had no such reservations.

One man was able to squeeze in where I wasn’t, and I watched as the train sped away, with him laughing at me through the window.

Ok, so maybe he didn’t laugh at me, but I felt like he did.

Because I hesitated, I ended up missing the train I needed to get to Westchester because I was late for my train from  Union Square.

What’s the point of this story?

Sometimes you just need to operate on instinct, before fear takes hold of you, in an icy cold grip, and prevents you from capitalizing on an opportunity.

Sometimes second guessing can be harmful.

This is something that I’ve had an issue with, and still sort of do.

Whenever I think of a great idea for a business, or a blog, or a video, fear takes hold.

It tells me, Don’t you realize someone’s already done this? How can you make it better? Or You’ll never be able to keep it up. That’s a lot of posts you need to write. You can’t create a funny viral video, you don’t have a sense of humor.

And the more and more I think of those things, the less inclined I’ll be to proceed with my ideas.

Is fear stopping you from pursuing your dreams? How are you dealing with it?

 

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

Leave a Reply

