Sometimes Things Don’t Work Out As Planned

You think you have the best idea ever.

You say to yourself, “I’ll start a blog! Not only can I earn money doing it, but I’ll enjoy it as well.”

So you start blogging, and fall in love with it.

But somewhere down the road, between work, the errands you run, the social commitments you keep; your blog falls to the wayside and becomes abandoned.

Gasp! “I would never let that happen,” you say.

Sometimes things don’t always work out as planned,but this doesn’t have to be a bad thing.

One of the blogs I started last semester was called The Social Media Hot Wire. I wanted it to showcase my interest in social media as well as chronicle my learning experiences with it. But as the school year wore on, that blog simply became another commitment on top of a long list of commitments.

Considering that blogging is not as important as passing class or my internships, that blog necessarily fell to the wayside.

But the other day I got thinking about how one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to write everyday (well at least blog regularly but it works out better this way :); I just need to utilize my time better.

So one of my projects this semester will be thinking of ways to revive The Social Media Hot Wire. I’ve got some great ideas, including getting a domain name (which is obvious).

Stay tuned.

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

Leave a Reply

