Live-Tweeting the BCS National Championship

Last night’s BCS National Title had everything you wanted in a Title game.

Both the Auburn Tigers and the Oregon Ducks came into the game undefeated, with the best players in the country in Cam Newton and LaMichael James.

Yet the day after Cam now has some more hardware to to add to his Heisman Trophy; Auburn won the National Championship and Newton was named Game MVP, beating the Ducks, 22 -19, on a last second field goal with 2 seconds left.

Being a Millennial however, meant that I had two laptops open I was using to update my Twitter, watch youtube videos, and write blog posts, all the while responding to texts from friends and oh yeah, watching Cam Newton dive headfirst for a First Down.

This all started with Twitter;I made a promise to myself that I would live-tweet the BCS Title game (something I’ve never done for any event) and I did.

And it was pretty awesome.

Even during the pre-game analysis and then during the game itself, I was tweeting  and also witnessing the real-time possibilities of Twitter.

There was something exciting about being part of history; as if I was being included by virtue of “witnessing” the Event and commenting on it with millions of people in real time.

Overall I would say I use Twitter a decent amount, but I’m definitely more passive than active.

I normally use Twitter to drive traffic to the blogs posts I write, send out interesting articles, and sometimes post random status updates and also keep up with friends.

There’s nothing wrong with using Twitter this way, but if I really want to be a Social Media Guru, then I’ll need to be more active on Twitter.

 

 

For me that means:

  • identifying key influencers and then making a concerted effort to reach out to them
  • participating in Tweet chats (which I’ve never done before but need to try)
  • and spending less time on Facebook (which I’m already doing!)

Last night during the BCS Title game, I could sense the palpable buzz and excitement around the game, from the dedicated fans of the Blue and Orange to the less dedicated fans who just wanted to see the Ducks win and Cam Newton lose.

I probably sent out about 30 tweets during the game, which I’m sure is a high for me.

It was exciting to comment in real time about a live event on the scale of the BCS National Championship, and now I truly understand why Twitter is so popular.

So from today on, I need to start being more active on Twitter.

I don’t have a definitive plan, but here are some articles that I think will help.

How do you use Twitter?

Social Media Examiner9 Ways to Get More from Twitter

MashableTwitter Guide Book

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

One response to “Live-Tweeting the BCS National Championship

Leave a Reply

