A Proven 5 Step Method to Writing Your Own Short Stories

Have you ever wanted to

You may think you don’t have the time, or that you are not creative enough, but you can write your own short stories, if you follow my 5 Step Method.

I developed this method as a means of writing every day, and I have to say that it has been instrumental in making me a better writer.

So without further ado, here is my 5 Step Method for writing short stories every day.

1. Choose a specific place and time to write short stories.

You don’t want to just pick any time and place.

You want to pick a place where you won’t be distracted. For me, it’s the table in the dining room of my apartment.

I’ve programmed by brain to understand that the table is for getting my writing done, and nothing else.

Also choose a specific time where you will be more motivated and inspired to write.

For me, the evenings work best because I’m not an early riser. You however, may be.

The location and time are irrelevant, what matters is that you pick a place and a time for you.

2. Lack inspiration? Why not try using an image?

Inspiration can come from within, but finding daily inspiration to write your own short stories can be difficult.

A great tool I use to find inspiration is StumbleUpon.

Basically StumbleUpon is a social network that allows you to browse the web and discover amazing things.

I use StumbleUpon to find amazing pictures, and then I craft a story around it.

The image provides that initial spark to get my creativity flowing and makes writing short stories much easier.

I study the image for a few moments, write down some ideas, and then get started writing.

Trust me, this trick works every time.

3. A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words.

And therefore you should keep your short stories to a 1000 words.

As you begin crafting a story about the image, you’ll find that you have a lot to talk about.

Take this image for example.

A robot is holding an abandoned baby in a dark alley and there are cops chasing him in the background. What can you make of this image?

Well you can now ask, why was the baby abandoned? And why are the police looking for the Robot? Does this take place in the future? Do robots even have feelings?

4. Write Continuously.

This is often the hardest part for me, and it will probably be for you.

Writing continuously is hard, because it forces our minds to think of things on the spot.

At first, this will be difficult but don’t give up, it will get better with time.

The reason why I write continuously is because if I stop and think of what I want to say, then I will eventually get writer’s block.

It doesn’t matter at this stage if the writing is good or not, because I will eventually go back and edit it.

Which leads us to the last point,

5. Sit on your story for at least a day (I do a week), and then revise it.

This is probably the most effective technique; even Copyblogger recommends it.

Mark Twain and William Faulkner did not write great short stories in one sitting. Rather it took them years.

By leaving your story alone for a day or a week, you can go back and remove any consistencies, add more details to your story, and just improve your writing in general.

You might be tempted to think that your story is good the way it is, but there is always one thing you can do to make your story better.

Conclusion

So this is the method that I use to write a short story every day, and it has worked wonders for me.

You don’t have to follow this formula exactly, but if you are dedicated to writing and working on your short stories every day, the better you writer you will be.

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

Leave a Reply

