3 Motivations For Finding A Job After College

Like the majority of college seniors and recent college graduates, I want a job and I want it now.

This is rather, obvious.

I mean we work our whole lives to be successful; we get good grades in high school so we can get into good colleges so that we can pursue careers that are rewarding financially and intellectually.

As I embark on this job search, I would like to share with you 3 things that are driving me:

1. Having a job means not being broke anymore.

Or at least slightly less broke. I understand that I probably won’t be making much money coming out of college (hopefully $40 grand), but that doesn’t mean that I can’t get excited about some disposable income.

There’s so many ways I could burn a couple thousand, it’s not even funny.

I could think of a few products I might buy: an iPad, and iPhone (on Verizon) and and a Macbook Pro.

I’d be set. 🙂

2. Having a job means not having to learn any more useless facts.

What was the impact of the Treaty of Versailles on Western Europe?

I’m sure I’ve been asked that question at some point, and while the answer does interest me somewhat, I have to feel that my time in the classroom could be better spent.

When I have a job, I won’t have to worry about coming home to write a paper analyzing the colonization of the West Indes (sorry if that’s your thing).

I could think of so many things I’d rather be doing: blogging, resting, watching TV, eating, running, writing, and learning (things I actually want to learn).

3. Having a job would make my parents proud.

This is the motivation that is really driving me. By securing a job, that means that I’ll be repaying my parent’s investment ($45,000/year adds up) in me. I know how hard they’ve worked to get me to where I am today and I am thankful for that.

There’s a second part to this as well. Having a job means no more cleaning up my room or shoveling snow out of the driveway.

Instead, I can just sit back and read a nice book, and not have to worry about my parents hollering at me to do something.

 

These are just some of the ideas that motivate me to find a job after college. What motivates you?

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

One response to “3 Motivations For Finding A Job After College

  • tkvrba

    I want to succeed in life and help people. I’m a journalism and international studies major, and I want to help people understand each other and grow in unity. It sounds a lot, but really, I just want to my part to make the world a better place.

    Money and supporting myself are important too but those only motivate me to take any job offered to me. What motivates me to aspire to the job of my dreams, is believing that every job I take and every person I meet, is one more opportunity to make a difference in someone’s life.

Leave a Reply

