How I Demolished Laziness This Morning

I made a promise to myself in 2011 that I would not only write everyday, but that I would also blog daily as well. And so far, I’ve been keeping to that.

But I won’t lie and say that it has been easy – far from it. I haven’t hit a significant wall yet, but I know it’s coming.

Case in point, this morning.I woke up 2 hours before my classes started so that I could get some work done.

Since I didn’t write my post the night before, I knew I was going to have to write it in the morning. But for some reason, I couldn’t.

I think I was just tired. Or at least that is what LAZINESS told me. It reached out its lazy tendrils and caressed my shoulders, whispering sweet nothings in my ears as I crawled back under the covers.

LAZINESS had won.

Or for a little while at least.

As I lay in bed, I realized that not writing a post would be anathema; I’d be letting YOU and myself down.

I can’t write a post because I’m too tired?

Did Michael Jordan stop shooting basketballs because he was too tired?

Did Martin Luther King stop preaching because he was too tired?

Does Maya Angelou not write when she is tired?

The answer to these three questions is, “Of course not.”

Those three figures persevered, tried, succeeded, failed, and learned daily.

If I ever want to be like them, I have to try, persevere, succeed, fail, and learn daily too.

And as I sat down to finally write this post, the words, the examples, and the story that I couldn’t have written 30 minutes earlier, drifted out of my mind and onto the page.

No, it’s not the best post or piece of writing I’ve ever created, but I’m damn sure proud of it.

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

Leave a Reply

