Taking 5 Classes Never Felt So Good

Wednesdays are going to be the bane of my existence – I can already tell.

On Wednesday’s this semester I have 5 classes: a Computer Science intro class with a lab, a music composition class, an electronic music class, and a film class.

So from about 12PM to 10:30PM I am in class all day. Literally, except for a break of about an hour and a half thrown in there somewhere.

So yeah, my Wednesdays are pretty brutal.

But as I came home last night completely exhausted, I dispelled the notion that Wednesday’s would be so miserable as to be un-enjoyable.

In fact, my Wednesdays might turn out to be pretty special.

First up is Music Composition. Right now I am learning how to read and write notes, the importance of time signature, etc. None of it is particularly fascinating, plus I played band through my senior year of high school, but composing music is something that I’ve always wanted to do – just not classical or band music!

More like Electronic Music, which I am taking. Yesterday I learned how to use Logic and Amadeus to compose a song, and I also learned a little about the theory and history of music, both digital and traditional. Plus our midterm and final are not your typical ones – we have to compose 2 and 4 minute songs respectively as our assignments! How cool is that!

Next up is an introductory Computer Science course. I’ll be learning how to use Python and I hope that this class gives me a good enough understanding of code so that I can learn other programming languages and make myself useful :).

The last class of the day for me is called Editing for Film and Video. I’ve only recently become interested in editing, but I understand that it is an important skill to have in 2011, especially with the explosion of online video.

The last class I’m taking only meets on Mondays, for two and a half hours. It’s called Digital Writing and it might be the class I am most excited about. We have to maintain our own blog, and we will be learning about what it means to write digitally: does the way you write change when you are online? What about issues of privacy? How has authorship and publishing changed in the last few years?

Some pretty interesting questions.

 

If you just read through all that, one congratulations, and two, isn’t that just the best class schedule someone’s ever described to you?

I’d say so.

Looks like it’s gonna be a fun, final semester.

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

Leave a Reply

