Live-Tweeting the LA Lakers vs. the Boston Celtics 1/30/11

I was hanging out with a friend the other day when he asked me the question, “Why do you always tweet articles?”.

The first response that came out of my mouth was, “It’s good for potential employers to see that I read a lot and know what’s trending.”

While the answer I gave him was enough to settle his curiosity, his question made me confront the real reason why I don’t really tweet much.

You see, showing employers that I stay on top of relevant events is important, but the real reason that I don’t tweet much of my own content is because, shhh don’t tell anyone this – I don’t think I have anything clever, funny, or interesting enough to say.

Which is an odd train of thought if you think about it, because I try and blog every weekday.

I (like many others) just feel that most of the minute details that are a part of my everyday life are just not that interesting to share with the rest of the world.

For example,

It’s cold outside.

Yawn. Of course, it’s New York.

Ugh, I have class from 10AM to 10PM today! Life sucks!

Really? Who cares!?

But now I realize how absurd this line of thinking really is.

I blogged a few weeks ago about how cool it was Live-Tweeting the BCS National Championship. I’d never taken part in a national event like that, and I want to do it again.

But this time, the event is going to be special for me.

You see, I’m an abashed Laker fan. (Yes, I’m from New York. And no, that doesn’t mean I have to like the Knicks.)

I haven’t been able to catch many Laker games this year, and the last time I sat down and watched an entire Laker game was when the Lakers were destroyed by Miami on Christmas Day.

This will be the first rematch of the NBA Finals from last year and you can bet it will be a good one.

I imagine tomorrow’s game playing out like this:

It’s 95-96, and the Lakers are down 1 with 15 seconds left on the game clock. Out of the timeout, Pau inbound passes the ball to Derek Fisher on the wing, Fish dribbles around for 5 seconds before finally passing the rock to Kobe.

With Pierce in his grill and the game clock winding down, the crowd chants 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1! as Kobe jab steps right, goes left, spins, and then swishes an impossible fadeaway jumper over Paul Pierce’s outstretched hand as time expires.

And I’ll be there documenting it all with a tweet something like:

Kobeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!! The Greatest of All Time!!!!

I doubt that the game plays out exactly the way I described it, but I can dream right?

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

Leave a Reply

