First Music Post: Lupe Fiasco – “Words I Never Said” ft. Skylar Grey

So I’m not really sure what I want to do with this blog, or blogging in general. At some point, I plan on getting a domain, hosting; the whole shebang. But for some reason I can’t decide exactly what I want to blog about. Should I start my own music blog and concentrate on that? Or should I neglect my love of music and blog about topics like social media?

So many questions, so few answers.

But alas, here is my first music post on this blog:

 

Source: Hipandpop.com

 

Lupe Fiasco’s latest album is set to be released this March, but the whole process has been anything less than smooth. As recently as last year, Lupe and his label Atlantic were at odds over the content of the album. Apparently Lupe wanted to focus on political issues, but his label wanted something more mainstream. Although the issue was resolved, this song definitely has some deep, political rapping.

Over a bumping, synth laden beat, Lupe wastes no time getting waste deep into what he believes are the dirty secrets of America,

I really think the war on terror is a bunch of bulls#$*/just a poor excuse for you to use up all your bullets/how much money does it really take to really make a full clip/9-11, building seven, did they really pull it/”

If you think that’s a mouthful, wait until you listen to the rest of the song. Lupe also touches on topics like education, Fox News, and jihad.

But after listening to this, I have to say that I can’t wait till Lasers comes out. If Lupe is spitting political gems like this track, I want to hear them.

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

3 responses to “First Music Post: Lupe Fiasco – “Words I Never Said” ft. Skylar Grey

  • First Music Post: Lupe Fiasco – “Words I Never Said” ft. Skylar Grey (via Sam Sunmonu’s Blog) « The Wandering Mind

    […] So I'm not really sure what I want to do with this blog, or blogging in general. At some point, I plan on getting a domain, hosting; the whole shebang. But for some reason I can't decide exactly what I want to blog about. Should I start my own music blog and concentrate on that? Or should I neglect my love of music and blog about topics like social media? So many questions, so few answers. But alas, here is my first music post on this blog: … Read More […]

  • Josh B.

    I still think it’s frustrating that a blog has to have a point. Why can’t a blog just be THERE? Eh, I dunno.

    Regardless, I love it when rappers talk about things that are relevant. Hell, I love it when mediums in general decide to talk about things that matter. Preachy episodes of South Park have always been my favorite…but maybe it’s just because it proves that there are successful people out there that care about more than ratings or (in rap’s case) women, drugs, and money.

    • Ssunmonu

      Yeah the more and more I blog about my personal life, the more I realize my blog can’t have a specific topic because I’m interested in so many things. 🙂

      Also I think what makes artists like Lupe Fiasco or shows like South Park so successful for you and I is that they are actually AUTHENTIC. There’s no corporate B.S., what they say in a song or on a show is simply a reflection of how they felt at the time.

Leave a Reply

