The Importance of Tunnel Vision

You know what it’s like right?

The daily grind, it wears on you. Day in and day out, the same routine; it gets kinda stale after a while.

That’s what I am going through right now. It’s a tough stretch where I have to focus on school, work, a job search, and managing my presence online.

And all this with graduation on the horizon.

It hasn’t been easy, and I’ve been losing focus lately.

That’s why I want to talk about the importance of tunnel vision. There’s a light at the end of the tunnel, but lately I’ve been seeing a lot of shiny objects along the way, and like a little kid at the beach, I’ve stopped by to pick them up.

I need to regroup, I need to refocus, I need to maintain long term vision while at the same time taking small steps towards that light at the end of the tunnel.

How am I going to do this?

First, I need to reestablish what goals I’m trying to accomplish by the end of school. They are:

  • Graduating on time. This means finishing whatever classes I have left.
  • Getting good grades.
  • Getting a job.
  • Becoming a better writer.
  • Learning more about social media and building my online presence.
  • Finishing my internships.

 

Second, I need to take each goal, and approach them one step at a time. When I’m all over the place and disorganized is when I’m least effective. But when I focus on one goal at time, I can put my full energy and concentration into it. This means:

  • Creating daily task lists for things I need to get done.
  • Starting projects and finishing them.
  • Scheduling time to finish specific projects.

These are all things I was doing up until a week ago, but my focus and dedication this week has been lacking.

Tomorrow is for when dedication starts anew and I get back to the daily grind.

My tunnel vision has been lacking lately. How about yours?

About Ssunmonu

Sam Sunmonu is a Duke University Senior majoring in History with a minor in Political Science. He is interested in the marketing industry with a strong online tilt. You can catch him blogging at Sam Sunmonu's Blog, or follow him @NewInfluential. View all posts by Ssunmonu

One response to “The Importance of Tunnel Vision

  • Josh B.

    I feel like it gets harder when you’re out in the “real world…” you don’t have people telling you what you have to do with your “free time.” I’m finding that I need to get focused myself…

Leave a Reply

